See more by registering or logging in!

Welcome to PlanetChristmas Forums. You must register to post in our forums and see all the pictures, but don't worry because this is a simple process that requires minimal information. Get rid of this irritating message by clicking those buttons to the right.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • See all the images and get rid of that annoying snow at the top of the screen
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Add events to our community calendar
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Tap into the world's largest decorating brain trust!
Guest Message by DevFuse
Photo
- - - - -

Extension Cord Set Up For Mini Trees

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Python

Python

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 162 posts

Posted 16 November 2011 - 10:19 PM

This is my first year for mini trees and I have one large (48 inches) and 6 small (36 inches) that I'm planning on placing in a V shaped pattern with the largest in the center. No problem, I thought. Just connect each one to the next one in line with an extension cord (using LED lights by the way).

Large tree....cord...small tree...cord...small tree...cord.

However, I tested them out last night and realized the male end of an extension cord will not fit into the female end of a light string on the trees. What? Why did I not know this? Am I missing something? I don't want to just plug them into each other because they would be way too close together. And I've already wrapped them all in lights and there's no slack in the cords. I'm not re-wrapping. Does this mean I'll have to use extension cords for each one individually and tie them all back into a main extension cord/power source? How the heck did I set up my lights all these years and never notice this? I guess I've always run the cords and the lights in one direction towards the power source and never run into this scenario.

#2 vkjohnson

vkjohnson

Distinguished Member